Philippine National Railways

First line opened 1892. Government bought out the privately-owned railway company in 1917. Philippine National Railways, a government-owned Corporation, was formed in 1964. After a 4-year rehabilitation programme on its Main Line South, passenger services resumed to Naga City in June 2011.

Premium content, please sign in to view.

Sub Advert

Not yet a Premium subscriber?

Upgrade today to benefit from:

  • Knowledge hub access:
  • Profiles of main line and urban rail operators
  • Country and city map directory
  • Network and traffic data
  • VIP passes to Railway Gazette virtual events
  • Exclusive features and analysis
  • Print and digital editions of Railway Gazette International and Metro Report International magazines
  • Unlimited access to online news
  • Weekly curated subscriber newsletter
  • Access to digital magazine archive

Get premium content now Upgrade