Russian Railways (OAO RZD)

First line opened 1834. Following the break-up of the Soviet Union in 1991, the new Russian Railways comprised 17 out of the 32 regions of the former Soviet Railways (SZD) which are listed below and have separate entries.

Premium content, please sign in to view.

Sub Advert

Not yet a Premium subscriber?

Upgrade today to benefit from:

  • Knowledge hub access:
  • Profiles of main line and urban rail operators
  • Country and city map directory
  • Network and traffic data
  • VIP passes to Railway Gazette virtual events
  • Exclusive features and analysis
  • Print and digital editions of Railway Gazette International and Metro Report International magazines
  • Unlimited access to online news
  • Weekly curated subscriber newsletter
  • Access to digital magazine archive

Get premium content now Upgrade