Add us to your taskbar by dragging this icon RGI logo to the bottom of your screen.



01 Aug 2002

The President & Chairman of Mozambique's Board of Ports & Railways Rui Fonseca has been elected Deputy President of the Southern Africa Railways Association.

Amtrak has appointed Jonathan Klein as Chief Mechanical Officer.

Dieter Meile has been appointed interim General Manager of Switzerland's Mittelthurgaubahn, following the departure of Peter Joss.

Hans Amacker has succeeded Peter Scheidegger as General Manager of Regionalverkehr Bern-Solothurn. Karin Steiner has become Board Secretary and PR Manager, succeeding Barbara Sieber.

CSX Transportation President Michael Ward has been named President of CSX Corp, gaining responsibility for the company's Intermodal and Technology units.

Jerry W Heavin has been appointed Senior Vice-President, Operations, at Kansas City Southern, succeeding Ab Rees who is leaving the company.

Dr Klaus Dierks has become Chairman of the TransNamib Railway board. John Shaetonhodi is named Chief Executive.

Hans Rat has been reappointed as UITP Secretary General for a second five-year term of office.

Alan Osborne has been appointed to the new post of Director of Railway Safety at Britain's Health & Safety Executive, with effect from November 1.

Under a twinning project funded by the EU Phare programme launched on July 16, Gabriel María Fern