Shinkansen network tops 2000 km

INTRO: December this year sees the opening of the Morioka - Hachinohe extension of the Tohoku Shinkansen, taking the length of Japan’s high speed network to 2047 km. The first part of the Kyushu Shinkansen will open next year, and work is proceeding on two other extensions

Please sign in to view this page

Sub Advert

Become a free registered user and you will get immediate access to:

  • All online news stories and in-depth content
  • The current digital issue of Railway Gazette International
  • The current digital issue of Metro Report International

Register today

Take out a Print & Digital subscription for:

  • Monthly print and digital editions of Railway Gazette International magazine
  • Digital back issues

Premium subscribers will also benefit from:

  • Full access to our Railway Gazette Knowledge Hub, a comprehensive reference portal which details more than 2000 main line operators , urban rail networks and regulatory organisations. The Knowledge Hub also gives you access to more than 200 country and city maps.

Subscribe today

If you are already a registered user or a subscriber you can SIGN IN now