INDIAN Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee is due to inaugurate the second section of the Delhi Metro network on October 2. Running for 4·5 km from Tis Hazari to Tri Nagar, the extension has intermediate stations at Pulbangash, Pratap Nagar and Vivekanandpuri, serving one of the most densely populated parts of the capital.

Revenue services have been running on the 8·5 km initial section of the east-west Line 1 between Shahdara and Tis Hazari since December 2003 (RG 2.03 p65). The 8·5 km third section from Tri Nagar to Rithala is already nearing completion, and is expected to open in March 2004.

Delhi Metro Rail Corp hopes to complete the remaining section of Line 1 to Barwala and the north-south underground Line 2 from Vishwavidalaya to Central Secretariat by September 2005. Completion of the 22·8 km Line 3 between Barakhamba Road and Dwarka - for which the foundation stone was laid by Deputy Prime Minister L K Advani on June 3 - will bring the network to 68·3route-km.