President Sarkozy has appointed Alain Jupp? as France's Minister for Ecology & Sustainable Development, replacing Minister for Transport, Infrastructure, Tourism & the Sea Dominique Perben. Dominique Bussereau is Secretary of State for Transport.

Georgian Railways Deputy Director Guram Guramishvilli has been appointed head of the co-ordination council for the Baku - Tbilisi - Kars railway project (RG 2.07 p57).

The Indonesian government has appointed Budhi M Suyitno as acting Chief Commissioner of state railway PT Kereta Api following the resignation of Soemino E Putra. Technical Director Sujudi Soemadilaga and Human Resources Director Amien Adburachman were also removed, being replaced on an interim basis by Managing Director Ronny Wahyudi.

On May 9 Romania's new Minister of Transport Ludovic Orban appointed Septimiu Buzasu as State Secretary responsible for road and rail transport. Constantin Manea was named General Manager of national operator CFR SA.

Ondrej Kubala was appointed Spokesman of Czech Railways on May 1, replacing Ales Ondruj who became Director of Marketing with responsibility for passenger traffic. Pavel Svagr is now Finance Director of Czech infrastructure administration SZDC, being succeeded as director of state transport infrastructure fund SFDI by Gust?v Slamecka on May 3.

Last month Amtrak announced the appointment of William H Campbell as Chief Financial Officer with effect from May 21 he was previously a director at KPMG.

Professor Robert E Rivier, director of the Laboratory for Intermodality, Transport & Planning at Ecole Polytechnique F?d?rale de Lausanne and author of the Rapport Rivier on the state of the French railway network, died on May 10.

New York MTA Chairman Peter Kalikow has announced he will step down once state Governor Eliot Spitzer appoints a successor. After six years in the job, Kalikow intends to spend more time with the family real estate company where he is President & CEO.

Frank Kruesi has stepped down as President of Chicago Transit Authority after nine years. He is replaced by Ron Huberman, Mayor Richard Daley's Chief of Staff.

On April 16 the sixth general assembly of the European Rail Freight Association elected a new board. Luca Ronzoni of Nord Cargo is President, with Martin Henke of the Association of German Transport Undertakings as Vice-President. The other board members are Tony Berkeley (Rail Freight Group), Bernhard Kunz (Hupac), Jeroen Le Jeune (DLC), Denis Paillat (Veolia), Graham Smith (EWS), Konstantin Skorik (Freightliner), Markus Vaerst (AAE) and Martin Vosta (Viamont).