Roger Nober, Chairman of the US Surface Transportation Board, has announced his resignation with effect from January 3.

Bremer Stra§enbahn CEO Georg Drechsler has been elected Chairman of the UITP Light Rail Committee, succeeding Raymond Hue of Rouen. Head of Public Transport at Dubai Municipality Abdul Aziz Malik has become the inaugural Chairman of UITP's Middle East & North Africa Division.

Mayor of London Ken Livingstone announced on November 24 that Bob Kiley is to step down as Commissioner of Transport for London on January 31. He will act as consultant to Livingstone for the remainder of the mayor's current term.

James R Young becomes Chief Executive Officer & President of Union Pacific Corp with effect from January 1. Dick Davidson remains Chairman, and Young will continue as President of Union Pacific Railroad.

On November 11 Antonin Blazek succeeded Libor Lochman as General Director of the Czech Railway Research Institute, owner of the Velim test track. Jaroslav Grim became Technical Director, replacing Jaroslav Opava.

Josefina Cruz Villalón, Secretary General of Infrastructure at the Ministry of Development, has been appointed as President of the Spanish government's new infrastructure investment company SEITT (p7). Formerly Director General of Transport & Public Works for the Valencia regional government, Cayetano Roca Giner has been appointed Director General of SEITT.

On December 5 Linda Williams started work as Chief Inspector of Railways at Britain's Health & Safety Executive, following the retirement of Dr Allan Sefton.

Paul D K Fraser joined the board of VIA Rail at the end of November.

Pacific National's Head of Intermodal Operations Phil Bainbridge left the company in mid-December to join the oil industry.

M S Tsaims has been named as Deputy Director General of Kaohsiung Metro, following the retirement of C Y Sun.

Network Rail non-executive director Ross Sayers died on November 25. He had previously been Chairman & CEO of New Zealand Railways Corp and State Rail Authority of New South Wales.

On November 25 Krzysztof Bialowolski, Marek Krawczyk, Jacek Piotr Krawczyk, Jakub Mienkowski and Zygmunt Swirski were released from the PKP SA supervisory board, and replaced by Wojciech Balczun (President), Juliusz Engelhard, Marek Kozlowski and Jaroslaw Adwent. Henryk Sikora has replaced Stanislaw Kogut, who stepped down as he has become a member of the upper chamber of the Polish Parliament. Jacek Bukowski and Janusz Maciej Lach left the management board, being replaced by Jerzy Marciniak and Arkadiusz Olewnik.

On December 13 former PKPPresident Krzysztof Celinski took over from Tadeusz Augustowski as President of the management board at infrastructure authority PKP PLK SA; board member Krzysztof Groblewski was replaced by Zbigniew Zarychta.

Boguslaw Kapcia (President) and Wojciech Kwiatkowski, Jerzy Kowalczyk and Piotr Podgórski have joined the PLK supervisory board, replacing Wojciech Paprocki, Andrzej Zebrowski, Krzysztof Siwek, Ewa Szczepanska and Anna Zmuda-Bednarczyk.

On December 6 President Radoslaw Zolnierzak and member Tadeusz Szozda were released from the PKP LHS supervisory board, with Janusz Malinowski appointed as the new President. The following day all members of the management board, except President Piotr Jus, were released: Mieczyslaw Czuk, Eugeniusz Tarka and Jolanta Pilat left the board, and Krzysztof Kasprowicz was appointed a member.