Netherlands Railways Chairman Rob den Besten is to step down in August. He will be succeeded by NS Reizigers Director General Hans Huisinga.

Amongst recent Russian Railways appointments, Yevgeni M Plokhov succeeds A S Levchenko as President of the Kuyibishev Railway and Alexander S Bogatyryov becomes President of the North Caucasian Railway. Several new Vice Presidents have been named: Alexander V Yemelyanov at Kuyibishev Railway, Lyudmila V Romanenko at North Caucasian Railway, Vassili V Rubtsov at Moscow Railway, and Alexander Vesselov at South Urals Railway. Alexander Bobrovski has been appointed Vice President, Passenger, at Far Eastern Railway, while Sergei Tishkin becomes Vice President, Operations. At Sverdlovsk Railway, Yuri A Pikalin is named as Vice President, Personnel.

Brian Joyce has resigned as Chairman of Ireland’s transport holding company CIE.

Michael Beard, President of the shipping line Australia-New Zealand Direct, has been named Chief Executive of Tranz Rail following the retirement of Dr Francis Small.

Deutsche Bahn has named Dr Bernd Malmstr