CER Chairman Crister Fritzson and Executive Director Libor Lochman

EUROPE: SJ AB President & CEO Crister Fritzson has been re-elected as Chairman of the Community of European Railway & Infrastructure Companies, following the CER General Assembly in Gdańsk on September 23.

Fritzson, who also chairs the Swedish association of train operators ASTOC, was initially elected as CER Chairman in September 2017, having held the role in an interim capacity following the departure of DB’s Rüdige Grube earlier that year.

ÖBB Chief Executive Andreas Matthä, VDV Managing Director Oliver Wolff, CFL Director General Marc Wengler and EVR CEO Erik Laidvee will serve as Vice-Chairman for 2019-20.

Other members of the CER management committee are RENFE President Isaías Táboas Suárez, SNCB CEO Sophie Dutordoir, DB CEO Richard Lutz, PKP CEO Krzysztof Mamiński, FS Group CEO Gianfranco Battisti, SBB CEO Andreas Meyer, Lineas CEO Geert Pauwels, SNCF President Guillaume Pepy, NS CEO Roger van Boxtel, and MÁV President & CEO Robert Homolya.

Thanking the various railway executives for their willingness to serve on the committee, CER Executive Director Libor Lochman said the association was looking ‘to guarantee the best possible visibility of our vision for the new legislature’, following the European Parliament elections and the selection of a new European Commission.