Ren? Cort?zar has been appointed Chile's Minister of Transport.

Ludovic Orban has been appointed Minister of Transport in Romania.

Last month Bob Scheuber announced he was to step down as Chief Executive of Queensland Rail by the start of May, taking leave ahead of his retirement on July 1. QR Chairman John Prescott said there were about 10 names shortlisted for consideration as possible successors.

On March 28 Transport for London announced the appointment of two new board members. Christopher Garnett was Chief Executive of Great North Eastern Railway until August 2006, while Dr Dana Roy is a London-based consulting economist who advises the Rail Safety & Standards Board.

David J Rohal, Charles M Patterson and Paul A Lundberg have joined RailAmerica as Vice-Presidents. Joe Conkin retired as Chief Operating officer on April 2, with President & CEO John Giles taking on the role.

On April 1 Martin Dvor?k was appointed Managing Director of Praha Transport Authority Dphmp, replacing Tom?s J?lek who also stepped down as Director for Strategy & Investment Development.

Howard H Roberts Jr has been appointed President of MTA New York City Transit.

Dutchman Markus Bertram became Managing Director of Rail4chem Benelux on April 1. During March Rail4chem shareholders BASF, Bertschi, Hoyer and VTG agreed a capital increase and restructuring to 'sharpen its competitive edge'.

Richard Sarles has been appointed Executive Director of New Jersey Transit, having joined in 2002 as Director for Capital Programs.

Norfolk Southern Corp has named James A Squires as Executive Vice-President, Finance. Joseph C Dimino has been appointed Vice-President, Compliance, and Timothy J Drake replaced Gary W Woods as Vice-President, Engineering on the latter's retirement.

Former Chairman and CEO of Kowloon-Canton Railway Corp Yeung Kai-yin died on February 8, at the age of 65.

Pekka Kuusela became CEO of EKE-Electronics on March 19, succeeding Anssi Laakkonen who takes on responsibility for EKE Group's rail business.