The appointment of Peter Hendy as Commissioner of Transport for London with effect from February 1 was announced on January 17.

Norfolk Southern President & CEO Charles W Moorman has been elected Chairman of the Association of American Railroads for 2006. He succeeds CSX Corp's Chairman, President & CEO Michael J Ward.

Takeshi Kakiuchi has resigned as President of JR West with effect from February 1, being succeeded by Vice-President Masao Yamazaki. He remains a director. Chairman Shojiro Nanya will also step down, being replaced by Noritaka Kurauchi.

Józef Marek Kowalczyk, Wladyslaw Krasuski and Zygmunt Siarkiewicz were released from their positions on the PKP Cargo SA management board on December 29. Wladyslaw Szczepkowski replaced Kowalczyk as Chairman, with Zenon Kozendra and Kazimierz Murawski also joining the board.

Following the resignation of Roger Nober with effect from January 3, the US Surface Transportation Board unanimously elected W Douglas Buttrey to serve as interim Chairman until a successor is named by President George W Bush. The board also elected Francis P Mulvey Vice-Chairman.

Imam Din Bhatti was appointed Pakistan's Federal Government Inspector of Railways on December 27.

On December 22 Canadian Transport Minister Jean-C Lapierre announced that the employment of Jean Pelletier as Chairman of the board of VIA Rail Canada Inc had been terminated with immediate effect, following legal wrangling over a 2004 decision to remove him.

London Underground PPP contractor Tube Lines has appointed Prof David Begg as Non-Executive Chairman with effect from February 1, when Sir Malcolm Field retires. To avoid a conflict of interest, Begg has agreed to step down from the board of Transport for London.

The Peninsula Corridor Joint Powers Board elected San José city councillor Ken Yeager Chairman for 2006, with San Francisco City Treasurer José Cisneros as Vice-Chair.

Richard A White, General Manager and CEO of Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority since 1996, has resigned. WMATA board member and District of Columbia's Director of Transportation Dan Tangherlini has been appointed to the post on an interim basis.

Harry Mathis became Chairman of San Diego Metropolitan Transit System on the retirement of Leon L Williams.

On December 13 MTR Corp announced the appointment of Richard Drake as Finance Director, European Business.

Saying he was seeking a new challenge, Nathaniel Ford Sr resigned from Marta and on January 17 became General Manager of San Francisco MTA.

Train and bus operator Arriva named David Martin as Chief Executive in December.

Britain's Association of Train Operating Companies has appointed Richard Davies as Director of Strategic Policy.

Carlos Eduardo F Carneiro has been appointed Operations Director of Cia Ferrovi? ria do Nordeste in Brazil.

Milan Mec? r has been appointed Director of Strategy at Slovak passenger operator ZSSK, replacing Mari? n Frko.

On November 15 Eurotunnel's joint board co-opted Colette Neuville as a non-executive director. François Coart has been appointed Director for Rail Freight Development.

Former Vice-President of Bombardier Transportation José Mathieu has become President & CEO of RailPower Technologies.

Wabtec has appointed Albert J Neupaver as President & CEO, and Mark G Whiteman as President & General Manager of Wabtec Railway Electronics.

David Homer is acting Deputy Administrator of the US Federal Transit Administration, following the departure of Jennifer Dorn to the World Bank. Former Deputy Administrator Robert Jamison has become Deputy Administrator of the Transportation Security Administration.