George Chen has been appointed Chairman of BC Transit.

Mike Kinski has been named Chief Executive of Stagecoach Holdings, a post relinquished by Chairman Brian Souter, who will concentrate on business development.

Joseph E Arsenault has been appointed Director, Systems Development, for Norfolk Southern.

Carlos Roman of Spanish National Railways has been elected to head a new UIC safety group.

Managing Directors have been designated for the three nascent groups formed by the split of Pakistan Railways. Infrastructure will be headed by Nasir Amin, passenger by Sher Nawab and freight by Mian Qayyum.

Arthur Bragg has joined Australia’s National Rail Corp as Group General Manager. Other new appointments include John Karamanis as National Customer Manager, Intermodal.

Zheng Xian Dao has been named Chairman of Sino-US joint venture Datong ABC Castings. David Kleeschulte becomes Vice-Chairman, King Chui General Manager and Warren Squirewell Operations Manager.

Anthony F Japha has been named to the newly created post of Chief Program Executive, East Side Access, for Long Island Rail Road. He will be responsible for the project to extend LIRR services into New York’s Grand Central Terminal.

Kevin Tutton has been appointed Managing Director of Siemens Transportation Systems (UK).

François Newey has been appointed Finance Director of GEC Alsthom.

Roy G Thigpen has been named Assistant Vice President, Network Operations, for CSX Transportation Inc. Mark O Ragland has taken over as intermodal service performance director for CSX Intermodal.

Ivan Foltyn has been named Chairman of Czech Railways, replacing Michal Tosovsky.

Norwegian airline founder Erik G Braathen has been named Deputy Chairman of NSB Gardermobanen A/S, which is headed by NSB Director-General Osmund Ueland.

Christopher Geldard has been appointed Managing Director of Parsec Europe Ltd.

Derek Roworth has been appointed Manager of Dunlop Metalastik Asia Pacific in Hong Kong.

Jack L Moss has been appointed to the position of Senior Vice President of Fun-Trains Inc, a subsidiary of First American Railways Inc.

William J Kleppinger Jr has been named Vice President, Sales & Marketing, for Vapor Corp.

Santiago Muñiz has been promoted as Vice President, Traction Electrification Systems, by Siemens Transportation Systems (USA), responsible for traction substation and overhead contact systems in the USA, Canada and Mexico.

Michael D Bornak has joined Portec Rail Products as Chief Financial Officer. Richard J Jorosinski has been promoted as President & General Manager of the Rail Maintanance Projects division, where Thomas Urmson becomes Vice President of Engineering.

David Meek has been appointed Director of Contracting & Supply for Railtrack.

Cleatus Barnett has been elected Chairman of the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority board. He has been a member of the board since 1971.

Dr Eckart Lehmann has been named Managing Director of AAE Ahaus Alstätter Eisenbahn Holding AG. He will take over in June. He replaces Andreas Goer who will become Executive Deputy Chairman concentrating on strategic development. Dr Lehmann will move from Knorr-Bremse, where his position as head of the Main Line division will be taken by Heinz Atzorn. Mr Atzorn will be replaced as head of Knorr’s Mass Transit Division by Werner Rauer.