Adtranz board shuffle

Following the conformation of Rolf Eckrodt as President & CEO of Adtranz, the following board member responsibilities have been announced (p141). Christer Badholm heads the new Mass Transit division and Jürgen Lochmann the Main Line Rail division. Joachim Gaissert, previously responsible for Manufacturing & Technology, takes responsibility for Systems & Components. Rainer Schmückle becomes Chief Financial Officer, and Ake Wennberg, who was responsible for Vehicle Techniology at Adtranz Sweden, has been appointed Chief Technical Officer. Ruben Ornstein, Heinz Cronimund, and Chris Sheppard have been allocated as yet unnamed responsibilities, but Kevin Hyde has left the company.

Rolf Eckrodt has been elected Chairman of the Union of European Railway Industries (Unife). Drewin Nieuwenhuis has joined Unife from UITP as General Manager.

Eugenio Damboriena y Osa has been named President of Spanish national narrow gauge railway operator Feve.

Chris Green has taken over as Chief Executive of Britain’s Virgin Rail Group with effect from February 22. A former Managing Director of British Rail’s Inter-City business, he has most recently been Director of the Gibb Rail consultancy. He succeeds Brian Barratt who has been offered a place on the Virgin Rail board. Mark Furlong becomes Virgin Rail Marketing Director, but Business Development Director Ivor Warburton has left the company.

Fernand Nouvion, French Railways’ electric traction specialist who was Traction Studies Director during the world speed record programme of 1955, died on January 25.

Jeff D Finitz has joined Systra Consulting Inc, formed by merger of LS Transit Systems and Rail Transportation Systems, as Senior Project Engineer.

Mathias Tromp has been named Managing Director of BLS L