President Bush has nominated Allan Rutter as Administrator of the US Federal Railroad Administration. He had been Director of Transportation Policy in the Texas Governor’s Office since 1995.

British Columbia Railway has appointed Robert Phillips as President & CEO.

Queensland Rail has made a number of appointments. Mike Scanlan has become Group General Manager, Passenger Services. David George is Group General Manager, Coal & Freight Services.

Congressman Rep Mike Ferguson has been named as Vice Chairman of the House Transportation Subcommittee on Railroads, saying he will keep trains ’safe, affordable and environmentally sound’.

Walter Hofstetter has been appointed Head of Personnel at Swiss Federal Railways, a post he has held in an acting capacity since Daniel Nordmann moved to head SBB Cargo last December.

Peter Kalikow has been confirmed as Chairman of the New York Metropolitan Transportation Authority.

Donald P Preau has become Deputy General Manager at the New Orleans Regional Transit Authority, in charge of the tramcar building programme.

The Elevated Transit Corporation of Seattle has appointed Harold Robertson as Executive Director, Tom Weeks as Chairman, Kristina Hill as Vice Chairman, Alec Fisken as Treasurer, and Tom Carr as Secretary.

Former Saskatchewan Highway Minister Judy Bradley has joined CanRail West’s advisory committee.

Interfleet Technology has appointed Ernie Atkinson as Business Development Manager for its operations in the USA.

On April 1 Miroslav Kapoun stepped down as Czech Railways’ Executive Committee Chairman.

Peter Parkin has joined the QSS Group as an engineering and safety consultant.

Derek Smith announced on April 11 that he is to step down as Chairman & Managing Director of London Underground and return to the National HealthService later this year.

Syed Gulrez Hashmey has become Divisional Superintendent, Peshawar, of Pakistan Railways, replacing Raja Naasir who has moved to the Ministry of Railways. Rasheed Mehmood has taken Hashmey’s place at Quetta. Khalid Javed has become Executive Engineer, Designs, and Principal Officer, Commercial & Transportation Department. Wajeehuddin Pervez has retired. Abdul Qayyum Khosa has been appointed as Director of Public Relations.

Dockland’s Light Railway Chief Executive Ian Brown has been appointed Special Advisor on Rail to Commissioner for Transport in London Bob Kiley for an initial period of six months. He will remain in his post with DLR. Colin Douglas has become Transport for London’s Director of Communications.

François Cammarata, a board member of Belgian National Railways since 1991, has died.

Robert Jung has been named as Acting Chairman of Rigi Railways, replacing Kandid Hofstetter, who has left the organisation.

Vaughn W Makary has been elected CEO & Director of ABC-NACO. Daniel W Duval was elected Non-Executive Chairman of the Board.

Tony Jolly has been appointed Project Director for the Spencer Street Station redevelopment in Melbourne.

Union Switch & Signal President & CEO Roberto Gagliardi has become Chairman of Ansaldo Signal. Kenneth R Burk has succeeded him at US&S.

James P Hyslip has been named Vice President of Massachusetts railway engineering consultancy Ernest T Selig Inc.

Chris Binns has been appointed UK President for Signalling at Adtranz.

Railtrack Chief Engineer Andrew McNaughton and Rod Muttram, Chief Executive, Railway Safety, have joined the board of the Rail Industry Training Council.

On March 1 Peter Johnson became UK and Ireland Marketing & Sales Director for Westinghouse Brakes and parent company Knorr-Bremse.

Gibb Ltd has appointed Tom King as Managing Director of its Global Transport Group.

Engineering consultants Parsons Brinckerhoff has appointed John Appleton as Corporate Development Director.

Former Northern Spirit Human Resources Director Julie Adams has been appointed as HR Director at Arriva Trains.

Rail engineering consultant, and former Director of Mechanical &Electrical Engineering at the BRBoard, Tony Roche is to be elected 116th President of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers on May 23.

On April 18 English Welsh & Scottish Railway announced the appointment of James Wilson as General Manager, Coal.

Minister of Transport & Communications Dr Swithun Mombeshora has appointed a new board at National Railways of Zimbabwe. Chairman is Chivarange Chimombe, Vice Chairman is K H Kambarami, and General Manager Samson Zumbika is an ex-officio member. Other members are Maphios Cheda, James Maphosa, Dr Enock Malaba, Devanand Popatial and Judith Rufaro Buzuzi.

Russian Railways has appointed new Vice-Presidents at several of its regional railways. A Kurochkin becomes Vice-President of the South Eastern Railway; I A Tombrovski, Transbaikal Railway; S V Semyonov, October Railway; A Lomanov; North Caucasian Railway; V A Steplevich, Sakhalin Railway; and G D Vezhnyev, Kuyibishev Railway.