Spoornet’s new board comprises Transnet Chairman Prof L A Tager and Managing Director S J Macosoma, Ms G T Serobe, E Groeneweg, Dr C B Strauss, Ms M E N Magmola and Spoornet Chief Executive A S (Braam) Le Roux, who reports to the Transnet Deputy Managing Director Mafika Mkwanazi.

Raymond C Lloyd has been appointed Executive Director of Roaring Fork Railroad Holding Authority in Aspen, Colorado.

Bea E Hicks has been appointed Chief Operating Officer, Rail Operations for Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority. Rod Morrison takes over this month as President & Chief Executive Officer of VIA Rail Canada following the resignation of Terry Ivany in April.

Hifab International AB has named Hansjorg Erbacher as Director Technical Services of Zambia Railways Ltd. Lars Jannesson becomes Director Finance and Ivan Olding Director Traffic & Marketing (RG 5.98 p283)

Thierry Ossent has been appointed President & Director General of French consultancy Systra. He was Operations Manager for Connex South Central in Britain.Bob Reid has joined Railtrack as Director, London from Eurotunnel, where he was Deputy Director. James Mackay has been appointed Director, West Coast Route Modernisation.

Andrew Neal has been name Chief Executive Officer of the Public Transport Corporation of Victoria.

Wieslaw Protasewicz has been appointed as a Vice President & Deputy Director General of Polish State Railways, with responsibility for finance.

Peter Ford resigned as Chairman of London Underground on April 22.Tim Clarke has been appointed Managing Director of British passenger operator Anglia Railways, in succession to Andy Cooper, who has moved to Great Western Trains.

Charles H White Jr has been named Associate Administrator for Policy & Program Development at the US Federal Railroad Administration.

Dr Eckart Lehmann has become Managing Director of AAE Holding AG, SwitzerlandJulian Burke has been confirmed as Chief Executive Officer of Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority for a two year period to April 2000. He has been acting CEO since August 1997. Ellen Levine has stepped down as Executive Officer, Transit Operations.