The General Assembly of European Rail Infrastructure Managers has appointed head of Network Rail’s European Affairs Department Michael Robson to succeed Marc Falchi as EIM Secretary-General. His three-year term begins on September 1.

Kang Gil-Hyun of Korail has been elected Chairman of the WCRR Organising Committee, in succession to Roy Allen, who is stepping down from the WCRR management team and will be replaced as US representative by Semih Kalay of TTCI.

Alain Bertrand has joined the European Railway Agency as Strategy & Research Adviser.

David A Brown has been named Vice-President & Chief Transportation Officer at CSX Transportation. He was previously Vice-President, Strategic Planning, with Norfolk Southern.

Kayrat Satybaldy stepped down as Vice-President of Kazakhstan Railways in May.

At the end of May the Israeli government approved the appointment of Gideon Siterman as General Manager of the Transport Ministry. He succeeds Arie Bar.

With effect from June 26 Dennis Sullivan stepped down as Chief Operating Officer and Head of the Railway Operations Division of Taiwan High Speed Rail Corp.

Richard Bowker is to become Group Chief Executive of National Express Group in September, succeeding Phil White whose retirement was announced in March.

Vladimir Vetrov was appointed Director of the Russian Federation’s Railway Transport Security Service with effect from May 25, succeeding Boris Borodin who had held the post until March 30.

On June 1 President Bush announced his intention to nominate Charles D Nottingham to the Surface Transportation Board and, subject to confirmation by the US Senate, to be Chairman for the remainder of a five-year term expiring on December 31 2010. He succeeds Roger Nober who resigned earlier this year.

Jaroslav Dvor