Sango Ntsaluba has been appointed Executive Director of Spoornet. Pat Malaza has become Executive Manager, Financial Management.

Roy Allen has been elected Chairman of the International Heavy Haul Association, with Ronaldo Costa as Vice Chairman.

Edith E Holiday has been appointed to Canadian National's Board of Directors.

Vernon Murphy has been named Managing Director of BAA Rail and Chairman of Heathrow Express. Brian Raven becomes Managing Director of Heathrow Express.

Roger Snoble has resigned as President & Executive Director of Dallas Area Rapid Transit following his appointment as CEO of Los Angeles County MTA on a four-year contract from September. He replaces Julian Burke. John Fasana became MTA Chairman on July 1.

Graeme Hampshire has been appointed Director (North & East) within the Strategic Routes Directorate of Britain's Strategic Rail Authority. Dr Steve Atkins has been appointed Head of Land Use Planning in the Corporate Services Directorate.

On June 29 President Bush confirmed the appointment of Norman Y Mineta to the Amtrak board.

Brent Ives has been elected Chairman of the Altamount Commuter Express Joint Powers Authority, and Sandy Eakins Vice Chairman.

On June 21 Czech Transport Ministry Under-Secretary Pavel Stoulil was appointed Chairman of Czech Railways' Executive Committee.

Following the retirement of G K Malhotra, K Balakesari has become Chairman of Rites.

Alaska Railroad has named Bill O'Leary as Vice President, Finance & Chief Financial Officer.

Hong Kong MTR Chairman & CEO Jack So will succeed Dr Tony Ridley as President of the Chartered Institute of Transport in October.

With Ormas and Trainmet holding 50% each of Buenos Aires commuter concessionaire Metropolitano, Mario Montoto of Trainmet now heads the San Martín and Belgrano Sur operations. Juan Carlos Losteau Bidout of Ormas remains in charge of the Roca network.

Elizabeth Monro has been appointed Deputy Administrator of the US Federal Railroad Administration.

Paul Plummer has become a Non-Executive Director at Britain's Office of the Rail Regulator; he was formerly Director of Economics & Finance.

Michael Couse has been named District Director of Rail Operations, Greater Cleveland Rapid Transit Authority.

Rod Diridon has been appointed to the California High-Speed Rail Authority Board of Advisors, replacing Michael Tannenbaum. Jerry Epstein has been reappointed to the board. Both will serve until December 2005.

Hans-Rudolf Mooser has become Managing Director of Brig-Visp-Zermatt & Gornergrat Railways, replacing Bruno P Melnik; the two railways are considering a merger with the Furka-Oberalp Railway.

Tsunekazu Matsumoto has succeeded Kanji Jimbo as Director of East Japan Railway Co's Paris office.

Paul Bell has been appointed to the new position of Vice President, Investor Relations, at Canadian Pacific Railway.

Imtiazul Haq has become Saudi Arabia Project Director for Pakistan Railways' subsidiary Railcop.

Ignacio Alfonso has become Secretary of Transportation in Argentina.

At Kazakstan Railways, Managing Director B A Baimukhanov has strengthened his team with the addition of K Tulemetov as Executive Director and R T Kuzembaev as Head of the Administrative Board.

Tony Depledge is to leave Blackpool Transport to become Development Director, Arriva Passenger Services, focusing on light rail and guided bus projects.

Vietnam Railways has appointed Tran Phuc Tien as a Deputy Director General.

W J Duggan has been appointed President of Ferrovias Guatemala. He was formerly Vice President, Operations, at parent company Railroad Development Corp.

Lars-Åke Josefsson has become Marketing Director of Banverket in Sweden.

T Hutchinson has been appointed Railway Supervisor at Greater Winnipeg Water District Railway, in succession to B Carr.

V P Vasilev has been appointed Deputy General Manager of Izhevsk Tramway, replacing M P Tensin who has stepped down. At Arkhangelsk Tramway, Juriy A Hmelnitskiy is General Manager, while at Biysk Tramway S I Drozdev moves from Chief Engineer to General Manager.

B Cable is the new Director of the Transport Division of the Economic & Social Commission for Asia & the Pacific (ESCAP), succeeding H Tampubolon.

Emosi Cagi has been named as Divisional Manager Transport, responsible for the Fiji Sugar Corp railways.

On July 1 Pierre-Louis Rochet joined the Supervisory Board of Siemens subsidiary Matra Transport International.

Trelleborg Industrial AVS has appointed Anette Larson as Product Manager,Rail & Marine.

Intercontainer (Scandinavia) AB has appointed Peter Gustavsson as CEO from August 1.

Nie Axin has been named as President of China Academy of Railway Sciences, along with Kang Xiong and Dong Shouqing as Vice Presidents. Sun Jianfeng is Director of the Locomotive & Rolling Stock Research Institute, Gie Hechuang is Director of the Railway Engineering Research Institute, and Liu Xuewen is Director of the Communications & Signalling Research Institute.