Herbert H Steffen takes over as President of Siemens Transportation Systems from September 1. He replaces Dr Wolfram O Martinsen, who is leaving the company by mutual consent on October 1. Mr Steffen joined Siemens Schuckertwerke in Saarbrücken in 1960, but spent most of his career in Latin America, latterly as President of Siemens Argentina. He returned to Siemens’ power & transmission group in Germany in 1992. From October 1, the Transportation Systems Board will comprise Mr Steffen, Dr Karl-Heinz Sämann and Hans-Dieter Bott, who replaces Siegfried Franke upon his retirement.

Michael Tennenbaum has been elected Chairman of the California High-Speed Rail Authority, replacing Edward Jordan, who is retiring. Mehdi Morshed has been selected as Executive Director.

Dipl-Ing Günter Ruppert has been appointed Managing Director of German Railway subsidiary S-Bahn Berlin GmbH.

Martin Lacombe has been appointed Senior Vice President & Chief Operating Officer of Canadian terminal operator RailTerm.

A S Misharin has been appointed Vice Minister of Railways in Russia.

Allen Harper has resigned as Chairman, CEO, acting President & Chief Operating Officer of First American Railways Inc. Executive Vice President Ronald Hartman has been appointed acting President.

Mrs Tineke Netelenbos has been appointed Minister of Communications & Transport in the Netherlands, following the promotion of Mrs Annemarie Jorritsma to Deputy Prime Minister.

Ronald A Rittenmeyer has been named President & Chief Executive of RailTex Inc. He succeeds as Chief Executive Bruce Flohr, who will continue as Chairman of the group.

L I Prillaman has been elected Vice Chairman & Chief Marketing Officer of Norfolk Southern Corp. Stephen C Tobias becomes Vice Chairman & Chief Operating Officer, and Henry C Wolf has been named Vice Chairman & Chief Financial Officer. NS has appointed five new officers in its Operations division: Jon L Manetta becomes Senior Vice President, Operations, in Norfolk; Phillip R Ogden is Senior Vice President, Engineering, in Atlanta; Lewis D Hale Jr, becomes Vice President, Transportation, in Norfolk; Mark D Manion Vice President, Mechanical, in Roanoke; and Charles J Wehrmeister Vice President, Safety & Environmental, in Roanoke.

Andrew Foster of Adtranz Europe has been named Acting General Manager of the Union of European Railway Industries (UNIFE) following the resignation of Mark Honinckx on August 1 to join the AGF-Allianz Insurance group.

Ing Viktor K