Barry Murphy has been appointed as Chairman of Australian Rail Track Corp.

Cynthia M Sanborn has been named Vice President & General Manager of CSX Transportation’s Florida Business Unit, replacing Paul D Sandler who has become Senior Vice-President, Corporate Services (RG 8.99 p496).

Dr Francis Small has been appointed Vice-Chairman of Tranz Rail, but will continue as Managing Director until his retirement from that post later this year.

Nitish Kumar has submitted his resignation as India’s Railways Minister following the fatal collision at Gaisal in August.

Andrew Markham has joined British franchise operator Great North Eastern Railway as Commercial Manager; he was previously Strategic Marketing Manager for DuPont Teesside.

Union Pacific has made six executive appointments with effect from August 1. Alex Kummant has become Vice President & General Manager, Industrial Products, and John Gray Vice President & General Manager, Business Development, a new position, with responsibility for Mexico and interline marketing. Greg Sovey becomes Senior Assistant Vice President of Marketing & Sales Operations with responsibility for the National Direct Marketing Centre. John Holm becomes Vice President, Premium Products, in the Network Design & Integration Department, being replaced as Assistant Vice President, Operations Support Services, by Jim Bell. Michael Ongerth has been appointed General Manager, Joint Facilities & Passenger Operations.

Jeff Ward, a Vice-President of consultants A T Kearney, is to join Canadian National as Executive Vice-President, Strategic Planning, with effect from October 1. At the same time Claude Mongeau will be promoted to Senior Vice-President & Chief Financial Officer. CN’s current Executive Vice-President & Chief Financial Officer Michael Sabia is leaving to join Bell Canada International.

Dale Larkin has been named Chief Executive Officer of Melbourne Transport Enterprises’ Hillside Trains franchise. Roger Mendes becomes Group General Manager.

Paul Oversier has been promoted to Assistant General Manager of Operations by the Bay Area Rapid Transit District. Formerly Chief Transportation Officer, he replaces James Gallagher who has moved to the Washington Metropolitan Area Transportation Authority.

Jeffrey A Warsh has been named Executive Director of New Jersey Transit. He is a former Republican member of the state legislature who most recently worked for a lobbying and public relations firm.

Lord Macdonald has been appointed Minister of State for Transport in Great Britain, succeeding Helen Liddell. Keith Hill becomes Parliamentary Under-Secretary with responsibility for transport in London, in place of Glenda Jackson.

Wim Schrama has been appointed Director of the NS workshops business Revisiebedrijf Haarlem, following the departure of Ewald Rienks.

Dr John Prideaux has been appointed Chairman of light rail operator Altram (Manchester) Ltd. He succeeds Sir Gil Thompson who becomes Vice-President.

Netherlands Railways’ Chief Architect Marius Reichert has died suddenly at the age of 63.

Italian intermodal specialist Livio Ambrogio was elected to the board of Intercontainer-Interfrigo at an Extraordinary Board Meeting on July 27. Mr Antunes of Portuguese Railways and Mr Mourmouris of Hellenic Railways Organisation joined the board following the resignations of Swedish State Railways and Hungarian Railways from ICF.

Swiss Federal Railways’ Director of Finance & Control Michel Christe has submitted his resignation from the end of October.

Robert Smith has joined Tyne & Wear Passenger Transport Executive as Director of Operations responsible for the Tyne & Wear Metro; he was Director of Public Transport for the Isle of Man Railways.

Rick Ducharme has been appointed Chief General Manager of Toronto Transit Commission, following the resignation of David Gunn. He has been Managing Director of GO Transit for the past six years.

Krzysztof Celinski was appointed President of Polish State Railways on July 30, as part of a restructuring of the PKP Management Board, following a review by the Parliamentary-appointed Supreme Inspection Chamber. Replacing Jan Janik, Mr Celinsky is a graduate of Warszawa Technical University. He began his railway career at the PKP Research Centre in1973, later moving to the General Directorate. In 1992 he became a Director in the Railway Department at the Ministry of Transport, but he returned to PKP in 1998 as Director of Infrastructure. He is replaced in this capacity by Kazimierz Jachimek who was the former Board Member responsible for Infrastructure.

Other board members are Krzysztof Niemiec, responsible for Operations, Krzysztof Maminski, Personnel, Wieslaw Protasewicz, Finance, and Jacek Bukowski, Restructuring & Privatisation. PKP’s other sector Directors are: Tadeusz Matyla, Passenger, Robert Matuszyk, Motive Power, Marek Zielinski, Telecommunications, and Andrzej Wach, Power Supply. Deputy Freight Director Wladyslaw Mirowski remains Acting Director.