Meeting in Kiel on September 30, the German Railway Industry Association VDB elected Dr Klaus Baur of Bombardier Transportation, as VDB President for 2011-14.

He is joined on the nine-member board by Dr Ansgar Brockmeyer of Siemens Mobility as Vice-President with responsibility for rail vehicles, Andreas Becker of Ephy Mess as Vice-President, Medium Sized Companies, and James N. Sanders of Vossloh as Vice President, Infrastructure.

Other new board members are Dr Frank Gropengießer of Knorr-Bremse, Dr Martin Lange of Alstom Deutschland and Volker Schenk of Thales. They join existing board members Dr Manfred Lerch of Balfour Beatty Rail and Werner Schmidt-Weiss of Leonhard Weiss who continue in post for a further three-year term.