INDIA: Prime Minister Narendra Modi officially inaugurated two metro extensions in Delhi on March 8, ahead of their entry into passenger service the following day.

Line 1, also known as the Red Line, has been extended by 9·6 km east from Dilshad Garden to Shaheed Sthal / New Bus Adda, serving eight new stations. Line 1 thus becomes the first line of the Delhi metro network to serve the city of Ghaziabad in the neighbouring state of Uttar Pradesh.

Line 3 has been extended by 6·7 km on an elevated alignment between Noida City Centre and Noida Electronic City. This adds a further six stations to the southeastern branch of the Blue Line.

Opening of the two extensions takes the total length of the Delhi metro network to 373 km, serving 271 stations. Of this, 59·5 km is located in Uttar Pradesh, with lines 1, 3 and 4 serving Ghaziabad, Vaishahi and Noida.