Dubai metro.

UAE: Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid al Maktoum, Vice-President and Prime Minister of the United Arab Emirates and ruler of Dubai, will officially open the Dubai metro Red Line on September 9.

Following months of speculation about the status of the metro project, RTA Chairman & Executive Director Mattar Al Tayer confirmed on August 29 that 10 stations will initially enter service.

The remaining 19 stations on the Red Line will gradually become operational during the next few months, whilst the Green Line is now expected to open in June 2010, three months later than originally planned. Once completed, the 75 km network will have 47 stations, 12 of which will be underground where the lines run beneath Dubai Creek and the historic city centre.

The first 10 stations (Al Rashidiya, Airport T3, Deira City Centre, Al Rigga, Union Square, Khaleed bin Al Waleed (Burjuman), Al Jafiliya, Financial Centre, Mall of the Emirates and Nakheel Harbour & Tower) were selected on the basis of their proximity to key residential, commercial and employment areas and to provide links to other transport modes. The Red Line’s eastern terminus at Al Rashidiya houses a multi-storey car park for 2 750 vehicles to encourage commuters to park and ride. A second car park is located at Nakheel Harbour & Tower.

The Red Line will initially be worked by 11 trains running at 10 min intervals to handle the anticipated demand of 3 500 passengers per hour per direction. During Ramadan the metro will operate between 06.00 and 24.00 from Saturday to Thursday and between 14.00 and 24.00 on Fridays. After Ramadan the daily service will end at 23.00, except on Friday when it will operate until midnight.