Vladimir Ivanovich Yakunin was appointed President of Russian Railways on June 15, replacing Gennady Fadeyev who becomes an advisor to Russian Prime Minister Mikhail Fradkov.

Dr Bill Emery has been appointed Chief Executive of the UK's Office of Rail Regulation; he also becomes a member of the ORR board.

UK Train operator Stagecoach has appointed Ian Dobbs as Chief Executive of the Rail Division. Dobbs will replace Group Executive Director, Rail, Graham Eccles, when he retires in April 2006.

In preparation for a January 1 2006 restructuring of Forum Train Europe to represent only train operating companies, on May 25 the General Assembly appointed a new board with Hans-Jürgen Spillmann of SBB as President and Jaroslav Kocoureck of CD as Vice-President. Other board members are Passenger Traffic Committee Chairman Roland Scholten (NS), Freight Traffic Committee Chairman Roland Hartkopf (Railion) and Secretary Peter Jäggy (SBB).

Khawaja Nazir Ahmad has been appointed Director-General of the Pakistan Railways Academy in Lahore, on the retirement of Asrar Ahmad Alvi. Syed Gulrez Hashmey has been promoted to Additional General Manager, Freight. Assad Saeed was named Managing Director of Risalpur Locomotive Factory on the retirement of Anwar Saleem.

Arthur-Iren Martini became head of Germany's Netzwerk Privatbahnen alliance of freight companies on June 1, succeeding Erhard B?€?gel.

Lu Changqing, Secretary-General of the China Railway Society, has joined the board of the International Heavy Haul Association.

Julie Garn has been appointed Business Manager, Intermodal, at GB Railfreight.

Dr Ketan Kamalakar Gokhale became Managing Director of Konkan Railway in April, following the retirement of B Rajaram.

Danish State Railways has appointed former Senior Vice-President of Alstom Transport UK Roger McDonald as Managing Director of DSB UK Ltd with effect from June 1.

Charles F R Ross, Louis J Tremblay, Angela Ferrante and Margaret MacInnis have been appointed directors of VIA Rail.

Phil Gaffney is to retire as Managing Director, Operations & Business Development, at MTR Corp at the end of the year.

Paul J Weyandt has been elected Senior Vice-President, Finance, and Treasurer at Kansas City Southern.

Susan Goldsmith has joined the Trains Division of National Express Group as Finance Director.

Former FRA Administrator Jolene M Molitoris and former BNSF President & CEO Robert D Krebs have been appointed to the board of RailPower Technologies.

Josef Bazala was appointed Chairman of the executive board and Director-General of Czech Railways on May 11, following the resignation of Petr Kousal. Jirí Kol? r took over as Under-Secretary for Commerce & Operations, replacing Jirí Kloutvor. Jaromír Kadlec succeeded Kol? r as Operations Director. On June 1 Rodan Senekl was appointed Under-Secretary for Freight Operation.