Antonio Tajani was appointed Transport Commissioner for the European Union on June 16. The Italian MEP succeeds Jacques Barrot, who has taken over responsibility for justice and migration following the departure of Franco Frattini. Tajani has committed to continue with Barrot's rail policy initiatives, and to promote trans-European rail freight corridors.

David Starling is to succeed Arthur Schoener as President & Chief Operating Officer at Kansas City Southern and President & CEO at The Kansas City Southern Railway Company. Starling has been in the industry for 37 years and most recently served as President & Director General at Panama Canal Railway, a joint venture of Kansas City Southern and Mi-Jack Products.

Dr Augusto da Silva Tomás has succeeded André Luís Brandão as Angola's Minister for Transport.

Jesús Loya's resignation as General Manager has been accepted by the board of Ecuador's state railway EFE, chaired by Minister of Transport & Public Works Jorge Marún. Loya has been succeeded by Fausto Montalvo pending a permanent appointment by the government.

Titus Haimbili has been named CEO at TransNamib Holdings in Namibia, operator of the country's state-owned railway.

Tim Parker has been nominated by London Mayor Boris Johnson, the current Chairman of Transport for London (RG 6.08 p390), to succeed him in this position from September 1.

León Lev, Alejandro Orellano and Juan Silveira have taken their seats on the board at Uruguay's state-owned railway operator AFE after a two-month delay (RG 4.08 p258).

Eddi Santosa has been appointed acting Director at metro promoter Mt Mass Rapid Transit Jakarta by Governor Fauzi Bowo, while Nurfakih Wirawan becomes acting Commissioner. They will remain in place for four months, by which time a fixed board of directors is expected to be formed.

Howard Permut has been promoted to President at New York MTA's Metro-North Railroad, where he is currently Vice-President of Planning, Development & Procurement. He succeeds Peter Cannito, who is retiring.

Pierre Blayau has been named Vice-President in charge of Transport & Logistics at SNCF, while Jean-Pierre Farandou has been named Managing Director at SNCF Proximités and a member of the SNCF executive committee.

Mortimer Fuller III, John Hellmann and Robert Melzer have been elected to the board of directors at Genesee & Wyoming.

Phil Hufton has been promoted from Vice-President, Track & Signals, to Chief Operating Officer at Metronet, where the senior management team now report to Transport for London.

Karl Knauff is to retire from his post as Vice-President, Business Development, at RMI, an independent provider of rail information to the transportation industry.

Bernard Attali, Jean-Pierre Mattéi, Martin Mogens Skaanild and Gérard Van Kemmel have been appointed to the board at Groupe Eurotunnel.

Peter Tereschuck has announced his intention to retire as General Manager of San Diego Trolley Inc in August.

Klaus Daubertshäuser, former politician and board member at DB AG, has died aged 64.

Lee Jones has been promoted from Northern Line Infrastructure Manager to Director of Operations at Tube Lines. In this position he will be responsible for the maintenance and modernisation of London Underground's Jubilee, Northern and Piccadilly lines.

Pierre Beaudoin has taken over as President & CEO at Bombardier Inc, while Laurent Beaudoin remains as Chairman.

Jamie Ross has left UK train operator Northern Rail to join passenger transport group Go-Ahead as Development Director, Rail.

David Maxwell has been appointed Safety & Environmental Director at UK train operator East Midlands Trains.

Hans-Jörg Grundmann was elected Chairman of UNIFE on June 19. The Siemens Mobility CEO succeeds André Navarri, and will serve for a three-year term.

Lothar Krauß has been promoted from Vice-Chairman to Chairman at German railway union Transnet. He succeeds Norbert Hansen, who has joined the board of DB AG with responsibility for human resources.

Michael Holt has been appointed President of the US transit division at LK Comstock & Company, a RailWorks Corp subsidiary.

Dale Davies has succeeded William Benac as Senior Vice-President, Chief Financial Officer & Treasurer at American Railcar Industries.

Michael Cyr has been named Director of Rail Services at GO Transit in Toronto.

Paul Scurrah replaces Andy Taylor as Executive General Manager of Queensland Rail's passenger business

Dr Thomas C Lieb has been appointed Chairman at Schenker AG, and Karl Nutzinger will step in to fill the vacancy on the board left by the resignation of Hans-Jörg Hager (RG 5.06 p330).

Dr Thorsten Bieker is to resign from his position as Managing Director at rail freight operator Rail4chem to return to BASF as Director, Logistics & Purchasing.