Michael Clausecker took over as General Manager of Unife on February 1, replacing Drewin Nieuwenhuis who agreed to leave under a mutual understanding' with the board. Clausecker became Chairman of Waggonbau Niesky in 1993, before joining Siemens in 1999 with worldwide responsibility for locomotives. In 2001 he was appointed General Manager of the German Railway Industry Association (VDB).

Maurizio Castelletti has been appointed Head of the Rail Unit at the European Commission's Directorate-General for Energy & Transport.

Ed Harris retired from his post as Vice-President, Operations, at Canadian National with effect from January 31.

David Hoff and Eric Stefanson have been appointed to the board of VIA Rail, Canada's national passenger operator.

Union Pacific Corp President & CEO James R Young was elected to the additional post of Chairman with effect from February 1, succeeding Dick Davidson who retired the previous day.

The appointments of Linda Williams, Michael Lee and John Thomas to the board of Britain's Office of Rail Regulation were confirmed by the Secretary of State for Transport on January 22.

Mphefo Ramutloa has been appointed General Manager, Group Procurement, at the merged South African Rail Commuter Corp-Metrorail.

Boukje B?gel will take up the post of Commercial Director at NS Reizigers with effect from April 15.

Charles Deegan has been elected to serve a year-long term as Chairman of Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority. A board member representing Maryland, he succeeds Gladys Mack who has stepped down after 23 years on the board. Virginia representative Christopher Zimmerman and District of Columbia representative Jim Graham were elected Vice-Chairmen.

Saleemur Rahman Akhoond has retired as General Manager, Operations, at Pakistan Railways. He is succeeded by Asad Saeed who was previously Managing Director at Raisalpur Locomotive Factory, a position now held by Tariq Saeed Dasti.

Cindy C Earhart has been named Vice-President, Human Resources, at Norfolk Southern, succeeding Thomas H Mullenix. Thomas G Werner replaces Earhart as Vice-President, Information Technology.

Jim Marks has been named Vice-President, Safety, at CSX Transportation, succeeding Bob Bernard who retires this month. SNCF has appointed Henriette Chaubon as Legal Director.

Ara Najarian and Anthony J Bejarano have joined the Southern California Regional Rail Authority (Metrolink) board of directors, succeeding former City of Lancaster Mayor Frank Roberts and retired Los Angeles Councilman Hal Bernson.

Francis Nakache has been appointed Director-General of international rail, bus and tram contractor EuRailCo.

On January 2 Kansas City Southern announced the appointment of Edward E Scott as Assistant Vice-President, Capital Investment Accounting. Nathan L Poundstone has joined KCS from KPMG as Assistant Vice-President, Financial Reporting, and Scott L Mylin has been appointed Assistant Vice-President, Revenue Accounting & Disbursement. William J Wochner has been promoted to Senior Vice-President & Senior Legal Officer.

Réseau Ferré de France has appointed Bruno de Monvallier as Regional Director for Aquitaine and Poitou-Charentes, where he succeeds Alain Prat.

On February 13 wagon builder FreightCar America announced the election of Thomas M Fitzpatrick to succeed Camillo M Santomero as non-executive Chairman when Santomero steps down on March 15.

Scott Brace has been promoted to Executive Vice-President of RailWorks Track Systems. Brian Bennett is Assistant Vice-President & Regional Manager for the newly-established southeast region.

ail flaw testing firm Sperry Rail Service has appointed Jamie O'Rourke as Managing Director of its North American Operations.

Gary Lowndes has become Finance & Commercial Manager at Siemens Transportation Systems' Rail Communications division, which integrates into Siemens the Transmitton business which was bought in 2005.

Anna Matthews has been appointed Chief Executive of consultancy firm DeltaRail Group, formerly AEA Technology Rail.

John W Soderberg has replaced Fred Einbinder as General Counsel at Alstom's transport business.