Rafael Mosura has been appointed General Manager of Philippine National Railways.

Polish Minister of Transport & Maritime Economy Eugeniusz Morawski appointed a new PKP Council on February 6. The President is Wojciech Wardacki, with Janusz Kawecki as Vice President. Other members are Zbigniew Boniuszko, Marek Borecki, Waldemar Chyczewski, Stanislaw Kogut, Kazimierz Kujda, Mieczyslaw Walarus and Adam Wieladek. On February 27, the council appointed a new PKP Managing Board, with Jan Janik retained as President and PKP Director General. The other board member retained is Andrzej Krawczyk. New arrivals on the board are Krzysztof Niemiec, Mrs Malgorzata Komosinska, Kazimierz Jachimek and Krzysztof Maminski.

Former Director of Passenger Rail Franchising during Britain’s privatisation process Roger Salmon has been retained as an Advisor to the Victoria state government’s Transport Reform Unit.Claudio Dematté has been named Chairman of Italian State Railways He replaces President G Crisci. Mr Dematté will work alongside incumbent Chief Executive Giancarlo Cimoli.

Marc LeFrançois has been reappointed as Chairman of Via Rail Canada.

Louis Gallois was confirmed as President of SNCF for a new five year term on February 25.

Ken Baxter has been appointed Chairman of Australian Rail Track Corporation.

Jan Los has been named Director of Netherlands Railways’ traffic control business unit NS Verkeersleiding. Zeger van Asch van Wijck has been appointed Commercial Director of NS Cargo.

George Muir has been appointed Managing Director of Connex South Eastern, succeeding Richard Fearn.

Daniel T Scannell has been named Acting President of New York’s Metro-North Railroad, replacing Donald N Nelson who moves to Conrail (box). Mr Scannell remains First Vice Chairman of the Metropolitan Transportation Authority board.

Mark Powles has joined West Anglia Great Northern Railway as Commercial Director.

Nine of the planned 11 members of the newly formed Amtrak Reform Council have been selected. They are: former Amtrak spokesman turned author Joseph Vranich, former Amtrak board member Paul Weyrich, former Federal Railroad Administrator Gil Carmichael, New Jersey Governor Christine Todd Whitman, Bruce Chapman, Christopher Gleason, Dan Sweitzer, S Lee Kling and Federal Transportation Secretary Rodney Slater.

You Hsi-kun has been selected as Chairman of the Taipei Rapid Transit Company; he succeeds Lin Ling-san, Director of the Department of Rapid Transit Systems, who has been Acting Chairman since the departure of Regis Chen Chao-wei last October.

CSX has announced six key appointments in connection with its planned acquisition of Conrail. Clarence W Gooden has been named Vice President, Transportation Field Operations. He is replaced as Vice President, Network Operations, by Gary M Spiegel. Gerald T Gates has been assigned the new position of Vice President, Transportation - Conrail Field Operations, and James W Fallon Jr will become Assistant Vice President, Network Operations. Robert A Bernard and Wayne A Richards have been named General Managers, Service Lane Integration.

Steve Hands has been appointed head of Metalastik’s US operation.Ian Jones has been appointed Managing Director of Rockwell subsidiary TSM Inc; co-founder Doug Klink steps down as Vice President and General Manager.

Josh Herlihy has been appointed Executive Commercial Director of Eurostar (UK) Ltd.

Ing Emilio Maestrini has been named Director of Italian State Railways’ Rolling Stock & Traction business, based in Firenze.

Clark Stelling has been appointed Director of Sales & Marketing for Safetran Systems.

Patrice Pinoli has been appointed Head of Operational Services Combined Transport for Intercontainer Interfrigo.

Former Vice President & Chief Financial Officer of Iowa Interstate Railroad Robert C Finlay has joined transport consultants Putnam, Hayes & Bartlett Inc as a Principal.

Ernst K Ehemann has taken over from Peter Burkert as Project Development Director for Vogel Industrie. Eckhard Andree becomes Export Director.

Senior banking executive Georges Blum has been named head of AlpTransit Gotthard AG.

Tony McGreevy has been appointed Melbourne Terminal Manager for National Rail Corp.

Three appointments at Conrail Inc have been announced by Norfolk Southern and CSX, which will jointly own the company once their takeover is approved. Timothy O’Toole will become President provided approval is forthcoming. Donald N Nelson, President of MTA Metro-North Commuter Railroad, will become Senior Vice President, Operations. Ronald Batory, currently President of Belt Railway of Chicago, has been named Vice President, Operations.