Dr Heinz Dürr has stepped down as Chairman of Deutsche Bahn AG. Dr Dieter Vogel has been nominated as his replacement.

Juhani Kopperi has taken over as President of VR Ltd, the operating arm of Finland’s VR Group. He succeeds Erkki Hämäläinen.

James R Van Epps has become Executive Manager of BART’s West Bay extension.

Stefan Karl Eishold has been named Managing Director of Metropolitan Express Train GmbH (p210). Susanne Kiedaisch becomes Head of Product & Service, Fabian Scharr Head of Marketing and Laura Deckert Head of Development.

Ian Buchanan has been appointed Managing Director of British infrastructure maintenance company GTRM.

Holland Rail Consult has named George Bruwer as Head of Infrastructure, Peter Otten Head of Major Projects, and Jan Garvelink Head of Urban Networks.

The RailTex Inc board has elected Ronald A Rittenmeyer as Chairman. He will continue to serve as President & CEO. He replaces Bruce Flohr who has taken the title Founder & Chairman Emeritus.

Sir Alastair Morton has been appointed Chairman of British Railways Board, and Chairman designate of the Strategic Rail Authority (p204). Tom Winsor has been named as Britain’s new Rail Regulator, replacing the acting Regulator Chris Bolt.

Changes consequent upon the privatisation process taking place in the Australian state of Victoria include Andrew Neal who is to become General Manager, Technical Services, but will continue as Chief Executive Officer, Public Transport Corp, until privatisation is complete. John Rogan has been named General Manager, Train & Tram Services, to commence once franchising is complete, and Rob Hutchings has already become General Manager, Research & Information Services.

Thomas A Till has been named Executive Director of the Amtrak Reform Council.

James A Shattuck has been appointed Vice Chairman of Union Pacific Railroad. He is replaced as Executive Vice President, Marketing & Sales, by John J Koraleski. James R Young has been named Senior Vice President, Finance, and Mary Sanders Jones becomes Vice President & Treasurer. Arthur W Peters has been promoted as Senior Vice President, Marketing & Sales.

Dr Mike Mitchell has been appointed Managing Director of FirstGroup’s Rail Division in Britain, operating the Great Western, North Western and Great Eastern franchises. Clive Burrows has become Director of Engineering, and Mike Carroll has been promoted to Deputy Managing Director of First Great Western.

Sir Robert Horton is to step down as Chairman of Railtrack in August. Victor Cocker has been appointed to the board as a non-executive director, replacing Sir Derek Roberts.

Alberto García Alvarez has been named Director of Operations for GIF in Spain.

Juan Miguel S