Swiss Federal Railways has confirmed the senior posts on its four new divisions. Reporting to the Head of Passenger division Paul Blumenthal are: Philippe Gauderon (Regional services); Vincent Ducrot (Intercity); Peter Lehmann (Client Services); Serge Anet/Thomas Portmann (Production); Hans-Kaspar Weber (Baggage and personal security) and Ferdinando Gianella (Rolling stock). The Cargo Division comprises Raphael Waeber/Dirk Broek (Sales); Jelle Huijting (Logistics); Nicolas Perrin (Production); Jürg Scheidegger (Marketing); Anton Scheuner / Dominique Boucrot (Client Service) and Samuel Ruggli (Joint-Venture Project), all reporting to Ken Bloch Sørensen.

The Infrastructure Division under Pierre-Alain Urech includes Hans-Jürg Spillmann (Finance & Network Management); Erwin Rutishauser (Route Management); Paul Moser (Major Projects); Max Lehmann (Construction); Reto Burkhardt (Maintenance). Headed by Hans-Kaspar Dick, the Central Services Department comprises Daniel Nordmann (Personnel); Michel Christe (Finance); Josef Egger (IT) and Peter Füglistaler (General Secretariat).

In preparation for a Public-Private Partnership for London Underground and the creation of Transport for London from London Transport, Richard Smith has become Director of Transport Strategy in Transitional LT, reporting to LT Chief Executive Denis Tunnicliffe. Managing Directors of the PPP Infrastructure Companies are: Hugh Sumner (Sub-Surface Lines), David Crawley (Infraco BCV), and Andie Harper (Infraco JNP). Reporting to LU Managing Director Derek Smith within the Operations Company are Director of Marketing & Planning Adam Goulcher, Director of Train Services Paul Godier, Director of Station Services Charles Horton, Director of Safety, Quality & Environment Mike Strzelecki, Chief Engineer Keith Beattie and Head of Contracts Jon Smith.

David Adams has been named Managing Director of Alstom Train Services in Britain. Ian Ferguson has been appointed Commercial Director and David Flynn as Managing Director of ATS’ Eastleigh Renovation Business.

Ross Drabble has been named Chief Executive of South West Metropolitan Railway, the new Perth - Mandurah line in Western Australia.

Sturla Jørgensen has been appointed head of NSB Gods, the freight division of Norwegian State Railways.

Sir Philip Beck has been chosen as Chairman elect of Railtrack, to succeed Sir Robert Horton. Formerly Chairman of Mowlem, Beck has been a non-executive Director of Railtrack since 1995.

Keith Ludeman has been appointed Managing Director of Thameslink and Thames Trains, replacing Euan Cameron who has moved to Prism Rail.

MVA Ltd has appointed David Mapp as Business Development Director for its Information Services unit.

Pasquale (Pat) Deon Sr has been elected Chairman of the Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority. James Schwartzman was elected Vice Chairman.

BNSF has made three appointments to top management posts. Tom Hund will become Senior Vice President & Chief Financial Officer of BNSF on August 1, succeeding Denis E Springer, who is retiring. Dennis Johnson has been promoted to Vice President & Controller, succeeding Hund. Shelley Venick has been named Vice President & General Tax Counsel.

Liz Parkes has been appointed Commercial & Production Manager for Glasgow Underground.

Sue Filby has been appointed General Manager of TransAdelaide in Australia.

Peter Teuscher has been named Head of BLS Alptransit from January 1 2000.

Helen Liddell has replaced Dr John Reid as Britain’s Minister for Transport.

Michel Moreau has been appointed President of Alstom Transport, succeeding André Navarri.

C W (Bill) Moore has been named CEO & President of electrical supplier L K Comstock.

Richard McClean has been appointed Production Director of Great North Eastern Railway.

Aden C Adams has been appointed Executive Vice President, Sales & Marketing, at CSX.

Roelof van Ark has taken over as President & CEO of Siemens Transportation Systems Inc. He was President & Executive Director of Siemens Turnkey Transportation Systems Business Unit in Berlin. He replaces Jimmy D Morrison who has resigned.

Jon Tainow has been appointed Vice President, Operations, for Amtrak’s Northeast Corridor Business Unit. Wal Desiderio has been named Chief Financial Officer. Rich Sales has been promoted to Vice President, High Speed Rail, replacing David Carol who has become Amtrak’s corporate Vice President, High Speed Rail.

William R Donley has been named Vice President of the RailWorks Manufacturing & Supply Group.

Terence A Monaghan has been appointed Senior Vice President, Group Sales, for MotivePower Industries.