Pakistan Railways has designated Managing Directors for the three business units which are being formed as part of a restructuring ahead of privatisation (p500). Chaudhry Abdul Qayyum has been named head of the Passenger business, with Chaudhry Mohammad Aslam as head of Freight and Nasir Amin as head of the Infrastructure unit. The chief officers from PR's Commercial, Marketing and Operations departments are to become General Managers of the three units.

A A Kuznetsov has been appointed President of RZD's October Railway. He replaces A A Zaitsev. V V Mikhno has been appointed Senior Vice President, and V I Golubtsov Vice President. V M Zheltoukhov has been appointed Senior Vice President of RZD's Moscow Railway. V Vorobyov becomes Vice President, Track & Structures. A Kovtunov and V Kutumov have been appointed Vice Presidents of Kuybishev Railway. S M Babayev has been named Vice President of North Caucasian Railway, where P G Kucherenko has become Chief Engineer & Vice President.

Rudy Svorinich Jr has been elected Chairman of the Alameda Corridor Transportation Authority. George Murchison has been elected Vice Chairman.

Nominations for the senior positions have been put forward by the supervisory board of German Railway for the second stage of DB privatisation, which takes effect on January 1 1999. Most incumbent managers retain their present posts. However, Dr Axel Nawrocki has been named Managing Director of DB's long distance passenger business which will become DB Reise & Touristik AG.

Stewart Joy, who was a member of the British Railways Board in the Beeching era, has died aged 63.

Louis Devillers, a general advisor to Belgian Railways, has been elected Chairman of Intercontainer-Interfrigo, replacing Bernd Menzinger.

Hiromasa Tanaka has joined Shigeru Saito as a Representative Director and Vice President of Central Japan Railway.Edward R Hamberger has been chosen as the new President & CEO of the Association of American Railroads. A lawyer, he has over 20 years' experience in transport policy and advocating legislation and regulation favourable to railways.

Roland Oliemans has been appointed acting Director of NS Railinfrabeheer. He replaces George Hammer who has retired.

Jean Boutanquoi took over as Director of TGV Est on July 1. He is replaced as Director of Ile de France Passenger services by Denys Dartigues.

Charles J O Wodehouse has been named President of CSX Technology Inc and Senior Vice President for CSX Transportation.

Hiroatsu Ito has taken over as Chairman of JR-Shikoku. He is succeeded as President by Toshio Umehara.

Gerhard A Thelen has joined Norfolk Southern as Assistant Vice President Research & Tests.

Richard Balderstone has been appointed acting Chairman of Australian Rail Track Corp, following the resignation of Ken Baxter before operations began. John Walker has been appointed to the ARTC board.

Timothy T O'Toole has been named President of Conrail Inc, replacing David M LeVan, who remains Chairman & CEO. Timothy P Dwyer has been appointed Senior Vice President-Operations, replacing Ronald J Conway, who has moved to CSX as Executive Vice President-Operations.

Ian Dobbs has been appointed managing Director of First Group in Australia.

Canadian short line pioneer Tom Payne has stepped down from Railink, the company he set up in 1983.

Steve Bredhauer has been appointed Minister of Transport in Queensland.

Joseph F Marie has joined Bombardier Transit Corporation in New York as Director, Sales, Systems & Vehicles.